How to create short cuts to SAP sites

If an SAP consultant, countless times I need to open SAP notes, and search for SAP sites. There are couple of plugins that enable you to quickly open SAP OSS notes with note number. However, I have big concern about security so I don’t like to install any third-party plugin on my browser. So I use the functions supported by browser itself to create my tools. In this blog, I will share with you how to create a shortcut to quickly open OSS notes and search for SAP notes in Edge browser. If you are using Chrome, all steps should be pretty similar to those in Edge.

  1. Create a search engine.

Open Setting from menu on the right. Then select Privacy, Search and Services on the left menu items. Next, scroll to the bottom of Privacy, Search and Services choose Address bar and Search, then Manage Search Engine. In this page, click on button “Add” to create a new Search engine. Enter content as below:

  • Keyword: the keyword you use to trigger this search engine. I use the word: note.
  • URL: The URL of the SAP note pages. Enter “https://launchpad.support.sap.com/#/notes/%s”. Edge will replace character %s with the note number I enter each time I use this search engine.
  1. How to use this search engine.

Assume that I am in SAP forums, someone give a OSS note number, I need to open it. I will click on address bar, type in “note” then use the key Tab on keyboard then paste or type in the note number. Then I press Enter key. Edge will open that note for me. It sounds pretty complicate, right? In fact, it is not. “Note”=>Tab=>Note number=>Enter.

I feel completely comfortable with this method. It is just like using google search engine. I also add one more search engine, which is truly a search engine so I can search for SAP notes by keywords.

The URL of second search engine is “https://launchpad.support.sap.com/#/solutions/notesv2/?q=%s”

So if I type in “note”, Edge browser helps me to open specific note number. If I type “notes”, it helps me to search for notes with my keywords.

Leave a comment